The Ministry of Education has described early childhood services in targeted communites:

  1. Kaupapa Māori services with 80% or more spoken Māori.
  2. Pasifika language services with 80% or more spoken Pacific language with mixed parameters including languages, teacher and child ethnicity.
  3. Services at risk of not delivering high quality programmes.  These services will not be able to meet certain indicators of success.  Initially this may be as they are on a provisional, probationary, transitional licence, or have an Education of Review Office supplementary review, or have been identified by the local Ministry office.
  4. Low socio-economic areas as below:
  • Northland
  • Whangarei
  • Auckland Wards: Massey, Tamaki, Henderson, Eden, Otara, Mangere, Manurewa, Papatoetoe, Papakura, Waitakere
  • Huntly
  • Ngaruawahia
  • Taumaranui
  • Otorohanga
  • Te Awamutu South
  • Kihikihi
  • Te Kuiti
  • Kawhia
  • Raglan
  • Hamilton Wards: West, East, Tauwhare, Morrinsville
  • Tokoroa and Putaruru Wards
  • Taupo Turangi Wards
  • Taupo Central, Richmond Heights, Waipahihi, Wharewaka
  • Matamata
  • Te Aroha
  • Paeroa/Waihi
  • Thames
  • Coromandel/Colville
  • Bay of Plenty Wards: Te Puke East, Te Puke, Mount Maunganui, Papamoa, Te Papa, Welcome Bay, Katikati, Waihi Beach
  • Whakatane Wards: Ohope, Taneatua, Waimana
  • Kawerau District
  • Opotiki Ward

If you are unsure whether your setting is eligible under these criteria please contact your local Ministry of Education office.